“Listen…and You Will Hear Me.”

Today is Thanksgiving. Things did not go according to my best thought plans. These thoughts didn’t really exist. I could say that I had decided to go along with the flow, but that would not be true. I rather seemed to forget that if I want a thing, I tend to need to think and then to act upon it. Already, I am perhaps off of the track. I operated by NOT going to the tree place in the bright day, one of the threatened LAST by the weather person THIS YEAR!!! As the day went along, everything else came first, and I watched the time for the brussels sprouts obligation for five o’clock. I DID clean out the sofa and the chair and behind and under the furniture. I DID freshen the material on them. I DID get all of the laundry disseminated. I posted images. Eventually I thought I’d have the hour needed to do my walk before making the sprouts, if I went without a shower.

Then…

The phone rang. Please move dinner up. No more window for going out.

I was upset. I gave up food. I gave up peace. I gave up my own family. And now THIS TOO!!!!

I screwed up the food. I quickly searched google for raw brussels sprouts salads. I had no apples, I made the salad anyway. It was passable. I tasted again and added in chick peas for my own small portion and YUM! Tossed in a can of those et voila! A salad AND a smaller amount than intended brussels sprouts garlic pistachio saute. The girls got a bit worried that I would not have anything to eat. They cleaned up the kitchen. They finished one minute before the appointed time. The meal was a few blocks up the street.

I drove to the Tree Place anyway. I decided to fore-go my normal ritual there and simply walk rather quickly as an attempt to get some exercise before it was too dark and cold. Normally if I rush I don’t pray or it is difficult for me to listen to messages or to peace. The scenery and wishes for time to have camera in the deepening evening for stark dried flowers against a salmon sky created a joyful firing of creative opportunities upon which my mind could begin to set the table. I heard owls. Ducks and geese flew overhead in sharp silhouette. I ran three steps and then was blessed with instant grounding.

And I was still. I noticed no sounds of birds. I noticed the echo of traffic near and traffic far which creeps across the island in the cold holding hands with the fog from the river. It was so still that I did not have to think. I waited and then I moved on. I was stirred to stop short two more times. Yesterday and today’s morning readings went thru me. I heard my name. I stopped and was settled, my parts all in place. “Listen…and You Will Hear Me.” I was told that though many work with that still small voice. Many times when one needs to hear the most, they cannot be nor feel nor notice-still. I can do both. Sometimes, I do not. Sometimes everything comes first, sometimes it needs to come first. I do not have to choose to go without, to choose not to be present with Him and in Him. I only have to Listen.

“….I shall never leave this Home of the Spirit, for it is always present. I shall abide in this home forevermore….”–The Science of Mind

About Elisa

I love reading, writing, poetry, photography and cooking and and and...!!! "It gives me strength, almost unbelievable strength, to know that you are there. I covet your eyes, your ears, the collapsible space between us. How blessed are we to have each other? I am alive and you are alive and so we must fill the air with our words." - Dave Eggers
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to “Listen…and You Will Hear Me.”

  1. Kathy says:

    Pushing the *love* button. We never leave the Home of the Spirit, for it comes to us in Presence, even amidst nearly-ruined dinners and quiet moments in nature. I am glad you made this public. It’s good.

  2. Elisa's Spot says:

    Thank you for kind pats of encouragement Kathy. There might be more ‘work’ on the Daily Practice pages, but those don’t show as new blog posts. It is very strange how some writing is output and other writing is input, for the writer. There doesn’t seem to be a rhyme or a reason for it. And, it doesn’t stay still for nice names and labels for longer than the typing of them sometimes!

Leave a comment